Categories: Featured News

Prestigious UK security industry award to recognise innovation


Share this content


Global MSC Security has announced that entries are now being accepted for the 2020 Gordon McLanaghan Award, which recognises an individual, project team or organisation that has gone above and beyond, to achieve a technical security solution.

Now in its seventh year, the free-to-enter award is managed by Global MSC Security and is judged by an independent panel of respected UK security practitioners. The panel look for compelling evidence of innovation and the impact that a technical security solution has had in solving a specific issue. The prestigious award is presented in memory of Gordon McLanaghan, an innovator within the Bristol City Council CCTV and Emergency Control Centre, who sadly passed away in 2014. The previous winners of the Gordon McLanaghan award are:

2019 – Dyfed Powys Police

2018 – Cornwall Fire and Rescue

2017 – Cumbria Constabulary

2016 – Gloucester City Council

2015 – Jim Guiton, Dacorum Borough Council

2014 – Safer Communities Glasgow

The Managing Director of Global MSC Security, Derek Maltby, states: “The Gordon McLanaghan Award is open to any organisation in the UK that has implemented a truly innovative technical security solution in the past 12 months. Since we launched the award in 2014, it has been dominated by some truly inspiring and successful projects undertaken in the UK public sector.” Maltby adds: “The award is truly agnostic, so if you have a solution that has set a benchmark, or has been delivered in a new and creative way in the private or public arena, we encourage you to enter this year.”

The 2020 winners will be presented with a piece of Bristol Blue glassware and a cheque for £1,000 at a gala charity dinner hosted during the Global MSC Security Conference and Exhibition 2020, on the evening of Monday 9 November, at The Bristol Hotel in Bristol.

Receive the latest breaking news straight to your inbox