JLA Connect wins Gordon McLanaghan Award at Global MSC 2021


Share this content


Global MSC Security has revealed John Lewis of JLA Connect as the winner of the 2021 Gordon McLanaghan Award for Security Innovation.

Lewis was presented with a piece of Bristol Blue glassware and a cheque for £1,000 at a gala charity dinner at the Global MSC Security Conference and Exhibition 2021 in Bristol, which raised more than £3,500 for Meningitis Now.

As JLA Connect, Lewis has been helping organisations to deploy best-of-breed security-technology solutions, for more than 25 years. During this time, he has established a deserved reputation amongst end user consultants, systems integrators and manufacturing communities, both in the UK and internationally.

“Fitting tribute to the commitment and service that he has given”

Managing Director of Global MSC Security, Derek Maltby, commented on the award: “The standing ovation John received when collecting his award is fitting tribute to the commitment and service that he has given to the security industry. John knows exactly who should be talking to whom and they listen and trust him.” Maltby continues: “John has the ability to create lasting relationships between people, technology manufacturers, integrators and end-user organisations.”  

Maltby adds: “This is only the second time the Gordon McLanaghan Award has been presented to an individual and John is the worthiest of recipients, going above and beyond to put the needs of others first. He is always ready to offer guidance and support.”

John Lewis commented on the award win: “Honesty and integrity plays a big part in all that I do and the assistance I offer. Being truly independent, I am in a privileged position, free from partisan restraints, to bring together people who possess the knowledge, expertise and ability to solve an organisation’s security challenges.”

The Gordon McLanaghan Award is presented annually at a charity gala dinner on the eve of the Global MSC Security Conference and Exhibition. It is names in honour and memory of Gordon McLanaghan, an innovator within the Bristol City Council CCTV and Emergency Control Centre who sadly passed away in 2014. Each year, the judges look for compelling evidence of innovation that has made a big impact, be it by a department, a company or a community. Winners of the Gordon McLanaghan award are:

·        2021 – John Lewis, JLA Connect

·        2019 – Dyfed Powys Police

·        2018 – Cornwall Fire and Rescue

·        2017 – Cumbria Constabulary

·        2016 – Gloucester City Council

·        2015 – Jim Guiton, Dacorum Borough Council

·        2014 – Safer Communities Glasgow

*No award was presented in 2020 due to the pandemic

Receive the latest breaking news straight to your inbox