Global MSC Security opens entries for 2021 Gordon McLanaghan Award for Security Innovation

Global MSC

Share this content


Global MSC Security has announced that it is accepting entries for the 2021 Gordon McLanaghan Award for Security Innovation. Now in its seventh year, this prestigious annual award is presented to an individual, team or organisation, in recognition of creativity and innovation demonstrated in overcoming a specific security-related challenge.

The free-to-enter award is managed by Global MSC Security and is judged by an independent panel of respected UK security practitioners, with the winner receiving £1,000 and a stunning piece of Bristol Blue Glass. This year, the judges will be looking for compelling evidence of innovation that has made a big impact, be it on a department, a company, or a community. Previous winners of the Gordon McLanaghan award are:

·       2019 – Dyfed Powys Police

·       2018 – Cornwall Fire and Rescue

·       2017 – Cumbria Constabulary

·       2016 – Gloucester City Council

·       2015 – Jim Guiton, Dacorum Borough Council

·       2014 – Safer Communities Glasgow

*No award was presented in 2020 due to the pandemic

The Managing Director of Global MSC Security, Derek Maltby, states: “The Gordon McLanaghan Award for Security Innovation is for anyone that has successfully demonstrated ingenuity, creativity and innovation, in going the extra mile to overcome a security-related challenge.” Maltby adds: “The awards are open to all, however, we would like to see more entries that showcase the accomplishments of individual security practitioners, working at all levels of the industry.” 

The 2021 winners will be presented with a piece of Bristol Blue glassware and a cheque for £1,000 at a gala charity dinner hosted during the Global MSC Security Conference and Exhibition 2021, on the evening of Monday 18 October at The Bristol Hotel in Bristol.

The award is presented in memory of Gordon McLanaghan, an innovator within the Bristol City Council CCTV and Emergency Control Centre, who sadly passed away in 2014. More information about the award and details of how to enter can be found here. The deadline for entries is Friday 27 August 2021.

Receive the latest breaking news straight to your inbox